Although Catholicism was introduced to Arkansas hundreds of years ago, the Catholic Church in Drew County is relatively recent-Monticello did not have its first resident priest until July of 1983, and St. Mark was not established as a parish until August 24, 1983.  Originally founded by the Glenmary Missionary order, during the earliest years of St Mark Parish, the first "church" was a remodeled building on West Oakland Street.  The present location on North Hyatt opened in 1986, with the original church (now the parish hall) completed that year, and education wing constructed in 1996-97 to serve the growing parish.  By the early 2000s, St. Mark had grown sufficiently to prompt church leaders and parishioners to raise the funds to build a new, larger church building just to the north.  Although Glenmary had turned St. Mark over to the Diocese of Little Rock by 2006, they were instrumental in helping fund the larger church building.  This new church was dedicated in 2008 by Bishop Anthony Taylor.  Today, St. Mark serves about 120 families in southeastern Arkansas.


Father Dan Dorsey, Glenmary
Father Chet Artysiewicz, Glenmary
Father Phillip Reaves, DOLR
Father Pius Ajunwa Iwu, DOLR
Father Rajasekhar Chappidi, DOLR
Father Mark Abban, DOLR

St. Mark Church, Monticello (Drew County, AR)

     Click here to access an archive of

     St. Mark bulletins

Also attends (in Desha County, AR):

     Holy Child of Jesus Church - Dumas

     St. Mary Church - McGehee

St. Mark, Holy Child, and St. Mary churches are part of the South Delta Deanery of the Diocese of Little Rock


Phone:  (870) 367-2848

Fax:  (870) 367-5868

St. Mark Office:

110 North Hyatt Street

Monticello, AR 71655

stmkoff at gmail.com

Office Hours:

     Mon.-Fri. 8:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.

St. Mark Rectory:

452 W. Jefferson St.

Monticello, AR 71655

(870) 367-5974

St. Mary Church:

401 North 3rd Street
McGehee, AR 71654

Holy Child of Jesus Church:

807 East Waterman Street
Dumas, AR 71639

Pastor:  Fr. Mark Abban
Secretary:  Denise Adams
Choir Director:  Anita Skinner
Director of Religious Education:  Hope Bragg

© 2023 by HARMONY. Proudly created with Wix.com